Flying: Confessions of a Free Woman

Jennifer Fox

‘Flying: Confessions of a Free Woman’ is a six-part series that takes a personal experimental approach to female life in the 21st century. The series narratively and visually interweaves aspects of filmmaker Jennifer Fox’s own life over three years – from 42 to 45 - with the lives of diverse and courageous women from around the globe. In ways that are both humorous and profound, the film searches for new models of femaleness, examining changing gender roles and the efforts of women everywhere to comprehend and define for themselves what it means to be a woman in these times.

Jennifer Fox

Jennifer Fox is an internationally acclaimed director, producer, camera-woman and educator. Her first film, ‘Beirut: The Last Home Movie’ won seven international awards, including Best Documentary Film and Best Cinematography at the 1988 Sundance Film Festival and Best Documentary at the 1988 Cinema Du Reel Festival, Paris. She produced, directed and shot the groundbreaking ten-hour PBS/BBC/ARTE series ‘An American Love Story’. She co-produced, directed and shot the six-part docu-soap, ‘Flying: Confessions of a Free Woman’ (2006). Her current feature documentary, ‘My Reincarnation’ has been filmed over an unprecedented 20 years.

General sponsor

Flying: Confessions of a Free Woman

2006, 348', color, video

Directed by:
Jennifer Fox

Screenplay by:
Jennifer Fox

Jennifer Fox

Edited by:
Niels Pagh Andersen

Jan Tillman Schade

Claus Ladegaard, Jennifer Fox

Produced by:
Easy Film A/S